Inspired by… Janelle Monae

NewImage

Hello friends!

NewImage

This outfit started with a hairstyle. The plan was to do a faux hawk, but when I determined that my hair was a little big for my old method, I decided to do a variation that involved pinning the front to the side. It immediately made me think of Janelle Monae which led to a “lets play dress up” session followed by a photoshoot. Welcome to my world. Lol

NewImage

I am wearing a white button down with cuffs (similar here) and the only suit that I own (similar in red!). You have seen the shoes before (here). I chose to mix animal prints with this look which is something that I don’t do too often, but I think it worked.

NewImage

 Oh, and that’s my dog, Warrick, in the background–guess he wanted to be in these shots too.

NewImage

I kept the accessories simple with a watch that you’ve seen before (here) and some sparkly cuff links (similar). My purse and necklace are from LA NY Couture and my studs are from Tiffany’s.

NewImage

Hope you like the look–it was a lot of fun putting it together!
9 thoughts on “Inspired by… Janelle Monae

Leave a Reply

